PAHSMA Deputy Chair appointed to Australian Heritage Council

May 19, 2009

Deputy chair of the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority, Professor Sharon Sullivan AO, has been appointed to the Australian Heritage Council.

Federal Minister for the Environment, Heritage and the Arts, Peter Garrett announced Professor Sullivan’s appointment along with two other heritage specialists who will join Australia’s peak heritage body, the Australian Heritage Council.

“I am very pleased to announce the appointment of Adjunct Professor Sharon Sullivan AO, Associate Professor Peter Valentine and Dr Jackie Huggins AM FAHA to the Australian Heritage Council. Each is an eminent expert in their field, and each will bring a wealth of experience to their new role on the Australian Heritage Council,” Mr Garrett said.

“Professor Sullivan has extensive experience in archaeology and cultural heritage management developed over a career spanning three decades. An Adjunct Professor at three Australian universities, Professor Sullivan was awarded an AO in the 2004 Australia Day Honours List for services to local and international cultural heritage conservation. ”

Professor Sharon Sullivan is the retired Executive Director of the Australian Heritage Commission and the former Australian Government representative on the World Heritage Committee. She has worked and published extensively on cultural heritage management issues for thirty years, in Australia and overseas, including the USA, China, Africa and Cambodia.

Professor Sullivan works as a cultural heritage consultant. She works or has worked with the Australian Government, the World Bank, the World Monuments Fund, the Getty Conservation Institute and the Government of the People’s Republic of China. She is also an Adjunct Professor at the University of Queensland, James Cook University of North Queensland, and the University of New England.

She is a Fellow of the Academy of the Humanities, a member of ICOMOS and of the Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander Studies and Deputy Chair of the NSW Heritage Council

Professor Sullivan has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate, from James Cook University and has been appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia and a life member of ICOMOS, for her services to cultural heritage conservation. She has been awarded the Rhys Jones Memorial Medal for Services to Archaeology.

She has served on the PAHSMA Board since 1999.

Professor Sharon Sullivan

Professor Sharon Sullivan